prime_time_main_screen

PrimeTime!

Platforms: Windows
Release Date: 2003
Genre(s): Business Simulation, Television Network Simulation
Publisher(s): Bogus Entertainment
Developer: Bogus Entertainment
Get it: Download Demo | Purchase Full Version
Our Score
8.0
GD Star Rating
loading...



PrimeTime! was one of the most feature-packed games in the television simulation genre.  Released and developed by Bogus Entertainment, the game is no longer supported or available from their website.  However, a demo is available to download here.

Taking the role of the new chief of one of the big broadcast networks, users are given a yearly budget from their boss, from which new shows must be developed in order to increase the networks ratings.  6 networks compete in the ratings, which become available weekly as you progress through the game.

What is so great about Prime Time! is that it included almost every feature one would expect from a tv simulation game.  In developing new shows, you have almost complete control over everything from the title and genres, through through producers, writing, and casting.  However, the game also includes and auto-cast feature.  Though casting is an enjoyable endeavor, being able to screen test your prospective talent and review their resume to see what hits – or abysmal failures – they have previously been featured in.  Additionally, users would – at the end of the season – get to renew shows or cancel them, allowing their newer series pilots to replace the canceled shows.

The network names may be changed from their default misspelling of broadcast networks, and the game included an editor within it allowing users to edit the features of the talent, writer and producer available within the games database.  While ratings for each day do appear at the end of a week or turn, the game also includes an in-depth ratings database, allowing users to see season averages for shows airing on any network, as well as weekly ratings breakdowns.

Unfortunately the game seems to be quite buggy.  Users may encounter crashes or other issues between seasons or years, which were unfortunately never fully addressed by the developer.  That said there are a number of methods to easily reduce bugs during the game.  Using these techniques a game recently ran more than 20 seasons before encountering issues, and then did not crash.

 

In Summary

Thumbs up THE GOOD:

  • Feature-rich gameplay gives you almost complete control over your network.
  • Focus on prime time (8-11PM) scheduling is again a nice break from mundane daily scheduling.
  • Schedules carry over, but can be altered.
Thumbs up THE BAD:

  • Quite buggy, often encounter bugs and crashes between network seasons
  • Series seem to run every week – 52 episodes/year whereas real life series generally run up to 22-26 episodes.

PrimeTime!, 7.6 out of 10 based on 12 ratings
Posted by tvtycoon | 17 May 2011 | Reviews

34 Comments

  1. Matt
    24 May 2011, 2:26 pm

    I love this game! Is there anyway of getting the full version?

  2. tvtycoon
    25 May 2011, 10:50 am

    I have updated the review with a purchase link above.

    And also one here-
    Purchase Full Version

  3. Matt
    27 May 2011, 5:34 am

    Thankyou TvTycoon however having purchased the game via their website it is not working. Have emailed the seller for info- will keep you updated as to whether I get the game or not so others know whether to buy or not.

  4. tvtycoon
    30 May 2011, 3:11 am

    What do you mean it is not working?

    Did the purchase/download work?

    The file you purchase requires the demo files (which can be downloaded here). First, install the demo to your computer, then essentially you need to overwrite the prime time exe file with the one you download after purchase. At least, thats how I had to get it to work from memory.

  5. Matt
    31 May 2011, 4:34 pm

    Commented on the demo page by accident – thanks for the tips. It does work since I’ve followed your instructions from the comments.

  6. tvtycoon
    01 Jun 2011, 8:38 am

    Glad to hear you got it working :-)

  7. Will
    14 Jul 2011, 3:02 pm

    Hello tvtycoon. I actually found this game through your site and decided to purchase it. :) However, I’m completely lost. Would you mind telling me how you put a new show into development?

  8. tvtycoon
    15 Jul 2011, 3:33 am

    Not at all.

    From within the game, select MENU on the left hand side.

    Then select ‘Modify Schedule’ or hit F6, i think may work.

    From the drop down box on the left select ‘incomplete pilots’

    You should be able to double click (Create New Pilot) now and give it a budget, select a writer and producer. Once you have waited a few weeks for it to be written, you can then begin casting.

    Alternatively from the drop-down box you can select ‘Pilots Available to Option’ which are pilots that generally have a writer and producer attached already that have been ‘pitched’ to your network.

    Hope this helps! Feel free to post any more questions here.

  9. Will
    18 Jul 2011, 3:36 pm

    Thank you so much! :)

  10. Bob
    11 Oct 2011, 2:48 pm

    I’ve tried clicking on the purchase full version link, but it just brings be right back to this page. What’s going on?

  11. Anthony Brown
    18 Oct 2011, 1:30 am

    Hello, I really would like to purchase the game but everytime I press the purchase “full version” it just brings me back to this page. Help???

  12. tvtycoon
    18 Oct 2011, 3:35 am

    Sorry, it seems our redirections script disappeared for some reason. I have reinstalled it and all those links should be working again properly. I have tested this one out and seems to be working, so please let me know if you have any more troubles.

    I really hope you enjoy the game, it is one of my favourites.

  13. Anthony Brown
    18 Oct 2011, 9:30 pm

    Thank YOU so much!, I have been looking for these type of games for a long time and none of them have like the ‘essence’ of what I’m looking for, you know?
    Like I want to be able to make my own show, it’s just so cool to me, thank you so much.

  14. Anthony Brown
    18 Oct 2011, 9:42 pm

    Okay, now I have another problem, I’ve downloaded the game but it won’t work and I’ve already downloaded the demo. More Help?

  15. tvtycoon
    19 Oct 2011, 11:12 am

    How did you install it?

    You need to install the demo, and then copy the primetime.exe file that you receive with your purchase, over the primetime.exe one in the demo folder. Should be under C:\Program Files\Bogus Entertainment\Prime Time or something similar.

    Hope this helps, was this the problem?

  16. Anthony Brown
    19 Oct 2011, 9:32 pm

    I don’t know, but I didn’t copy it over the demo file. My purchase download was a .zip and I just clicked on in my zip folder (winace). And when I clicked it I got alot of errors that said file missing. But I will try what you said, cause I really REALLY want to fully play this game (tired of playing the trial). Lol, thanks for helping me!

  17. Anthony Brown
    19 Oct 2011, 9:34 pm

    Lol, and Mr. tvtycoon, I used up my 3 download tries trying to get it right (they gave me 3 more)…so can you kind of go step by step of how to do it or something (but I will try what you said!)

  18. Anthony Brown
    20 Oct 2011, 12:38 am

    Ok, I got the (.exe) purchase version on my cpu now. And everytime I click it it says how I miss new things. But when I try to copy it to the demo it want let me. How do I copy it to the demo version?

  19. tvtycoon
    20 Oct 2011, 9:25 am

    Are you running Windows 7? Im not too sure – as i’ve never had any trouble with this – but I am assuming you will need administrator priviledges. Additionally, make sure you are not running the demo or any prime time files when you try to copy over the existing demo primetime.exe

    When you say it wont let you – what error does it give exactly?

    I’m sorry you’re having trouble with this, I hope we can sort it out soon!

  20. tvtycoon
    20 Oct 2011, 9:28 am

    Here is a step by step.

    1. Install the demo with setup.exe
    2. Make sure you are not running the demo, or any other associated files.
    3. Extract the .zip you receive upon purchase.
    4. Copy the primetime.exe file you unzipped/extracted in step 3, and paste it OVER the primetime.exe demo file in your program files (or wherever you installed the demo to).
    5. Windows might ask to grant it administrator priviledges – do so.

    I hope this helps.

  21. Anthony
    20 Oct 2011, 9:23 pm

    I think that’s what is is. That I didn’t have a .zip file program.

  22. Anthony
    20 Oct 2011, 10:22 pm

    Okay, I copied and pasted but it keeps saying ERROR: bad file name or number, ERROR: subscript out of range, and something else.

  23. Anthony Brown
    21 Oct 2011, 9:26 pm

    I think I have done that. It says: Error: “Path not found”, “Bad file name or number”, “Script out of range”, do you know what is happening when it does this? Is there a fix to this?

  24. Anthony Brown
    22 Oct 2011, 4:26 am

    I am now convinced that after following your instructions and implying them on two computers, after gettering error with the game “trying” to come up, that there’s something wrong with the game. Is there something you can do? Are the people at bogus still working on it? thanks.

  25. tvtycoon
    02 Nov 2011, 6:59 am

    Bogus are not still working on the game unfortunately. I have never seen thsese sorts of errors while the game is starting up.

    Do you have Visual Basic Runtime files installed?

    In term sof the error “Path not found” did you install the game to the default directory, or select another?

    It may also be worth going into the .exe’s preferences (right click, preferences) and ensuring it is set to ‘run as an administraor’ (windows vista/7) and even try compataibility mode for Windows XP perhaps?

  26. Dan
    09 Dec 2011, 5:36 pm

    I downloaded the demo but I cannot advance without crashing. I always get the run-time error 13: Type mismatch. is it worth buying it or will it always crash with no chance to play?

  27. tvtycoon
    10 Dec 2011, 5:43 am

    If you cannot get the Demo to work without crashing, I wouldn’t suggest purcashing.

    Just wondering though – do you have Visual Basic Runtime files installed?

    Which network are you running as? From memory POX or CSB seem to be less buggy.

    Cheers

  28. Cal
    04 Jan 2012, 6:36 am

    I think this game is great. It has areas to improve on but very good. This and SimTV are part of the basis i am following on in my upcoming TV Sim game, Tv Identity.

  29. George
    17 Jun 2012, 3:34 am

    Sounds great. Is it available in Australia? Also, is there any aspects relating to nightly news etc? Thanks for any help!

  30. Stephen
    15 Oct 2012, 7:47 pm

    Any chance someone can just post the working exe for others to download?
    If the devs aint supporting or working on the game still, and this is just a stray digital store page, then it’s not like they’d care.

  31. Kevin
    07 Nov 2012, 12:43 am

    I bought the game from the link above, but I’m missing some things from the screenshots.
    Namely, the images of the talent and the box around the casting call part.

    Also, I noticed in the demo I can negotiate contract lengths, while in the full game that bit seems to be removed completely.

    Is it like this for anyone else, or is it just me?

  32. lakes
    08 Apr 2013, 12:52 am

    I’m getting run-time error ’13′ type mismatch error all the time

    can’t advance, any solution for this? at the very start of the game :/

  33. Hayden
    31 May 2015, 9:21 pm

    http://tvsimgame.proboards.com

    Try my sim game. A lot of room. Come on by

  34. Philip
    03 Jul 2017, 10:13 pm

    Does anyone know where this game can be downloaded? Can’t seem to find it anywhere.

Leave a Reply

Tips, Cheats & Downloads

prime_time_network_scheduling

Download: Prime Time! Demo

v1.0 of the PrimeTime! demo file can be downloaded below.  Read our review here. Game was released and developed by Bogus Entertainment. Bogus Entertainment reserve all rights. Download Demo
Posted 17 May 2011 | Downloads | 1 Comment
prime_time_casting_actor

Tips to preventing Prime Time! from crashing

PrimeTime! is quite a buggy game, however it can run for long periods (more than 20 years or television seasons).  While it is difficult to pinpoint exactly what allows this to happen smoothly, below are some tips and tricks which may help prevent Prime Time from crashing. Don’t alter...
Posted 17 May 2011 | Misc | No Comments

Images

prime_time_casting_actor
prime_time_main_screen
prime_time_network_scheduling
primetime_casting
primetime_network_budgets